The league allocations have been announced for the 2017 season with the one major change coming for the Third XI, who have been switched to the North-West section of Regional Division 2, moving from the West league as the competition stretches from three to four leagues at that level.

Subject to it’s ratification at the forthcoming Annual General Meeting, Calmore Sports’ First XI promotion to SEPCL Division 1 will be confirmed – this is but a formality as are all of the promotion and relegations in the Southern League are with Ryde and Lymington II already forming part of Hampshire Division One.

The Second XI remain in County Division Three South and will be joined by the relegated duo of Hayling Island and Portchester, who are down from County Two.  Being promoted from County Four South are Waterlooville II, Winton and Isle of Wight outfit Shanklin – so there is scope for the 2s to travel across the Solent.

Bashley (Rydal) III, Bishop’s Waltham II, Bransgore, Cadnam, CALMORE SPORTS II, Follands, Gosport Borough II, Hambledon II, Hayling Island, Mudeford, Portchester, Portsmouth II, Shanklin, Southampton Community, Suttoners, Waterlooville II, Winton, Woodgreen.

It is with the Third XI that the major changes come.  The Regional Divisions have been squeezed from four leagues into three and while the 3s stay put in Regional 2, they have been moved geographically into the North-West section as Regional 2 North/West/South become Regional 2 North-West/North-East/South-West/South-East.

Of course, had results gone their way towards the end of the season having topped the table for a while, they could have followed local rivals Totton & Eling III and Langley Manor III into Regional 1 instead, however, we did miss out and therefore remain put in Regional 2.

However, there is scope for some pretty nasty looking long distance hikes with Hungerford II, Longparish II, Over Wallop, St Mary Bourne, Wilton and Winterbourne II all featuring in this North-West sector – along with Hyde in the New Forest!

Broughton, CALMORE SPORTS III, Farley II, Hungerford II, Hursley Park IV, Hyde, Laverstock & Ford, Littleton II, Longparish III, Michelmersh & Timsbury II, Over Wallop, Riverside, St Mary Bourne, Wellow & Plaitford, Whiteparish II, Wilton, Winterbourne II.

The Fourth XI have been lifted into Regional Division 3 North-West after the amendments to the leagues, however this still remains the very bottom wrung of the ladder.

There are some familiar names contained in the league although Laverstock & Ford IIs are a new team into the league whilst Old Tauntonians & Romsey V, Southampton Travellers II and Steeple Langford IIs have all been relegated into this division.

Ampfield & North Baddesley II, Andover IV, Bramshaw III, CALMORE SPORTS IV, Dinton II, Laverstock & Ford II, Michelmersh & Timsbury III, Old Tauntonians and Romsey V, Redlynch & Hale III, Shrewton III, Southampton Travellers II, Steeple Langford II, Thruxton, Trojans III, Wherwell II, Winterslow II.