It has been two long years since the last time the club joined together for its annual Presentation Night but they sure made up for it on another fantastically enjoyable night, bringing the curtain down on the 2021 season and looking back on one like no other in terms of success for Calmore Sports Club.

A magnificent season across the board for the club, saw the 1st XI crowned National Village champions at Lord’s and secure a third place finish in Division 1 of the SPCL but the plaudits didn’t end there as the 3rd XI went through their Hampshire League Division 5 season unbeaten and secured the title and promotion for 2022.

The honours and congratulations were in plentiful evidence but none more so that the surprise that greeted Club Chairman Pete Lavelle towards the end of the evening.

The Club Person of the Year award has been presented to deserving members, volunteers and helpers for 53 years, going back to the first winner in 1969, Terry Sweetman.  However, unbeknown to the Chairman, the committee had decided to rename the award and the 2021 winner would be the first to receive the “Peter Lavelle Shield”.  The decision was greeted with huge cheers from the packed Loperwood Park pavilion for the man who had been at the helm of the club since 2008 and was stunned into a rare silence!

That first recipient of the Peter Lavelle Shield was Dave Bourne, who was recognised for his sterling work across the club, from umpiring in the early rounds of the Village Cup and for the club’s second XI to working tirelessly on the ground and his efforts in getting truly soaked as the monsoon that hit the ground during the semi-final win over Stoke Green was just the icing on the cake of  his achievements.  Dave has been outstanding since joining the club from local rivals Totton and Eling, always willing to assist, help and support the club in any way he can and he is a very worthy person to have taken this honour.

He wasn’t the only ‘Club Person of the Year’ to be announced though as, with the club unable to have a presentation night in 2020, they wound the clock back 12 months.  And the winner of the 2020 award went to Richard Isaacs.  There might not have been much cricket played on the ground but there was plenty in the form of ‘Virtual Test’ matches between teams across the eras of the club via our social media outlets and the ‘On This Day’ features, looking back at events on a particular day in our history, proved very popular with all, keeping people entertained while being locked down at home.  He becomes just the third person to have won the award more than once after winning it in 1995 – Keith Woodhall (three times) and Teddy Rolfe (twice) are the others.

The “Most Improved Player” award went to 3rd XI bowler of the year Matt Morgan, who enjoyed a stellar season in Cal Greasley’s side and was a richly deserving winner of the trophy.

The full list of awards on the night were:
‘PETER LAVELLE SHIELD’ for CLUB PERSON of the YEAR 2021: Dave Bourne
CLUB PERSON of the YEAR 2020: Richard Isaacs

Player of the Year: Shawn Johnson
Batter of the Year: Ben Johns
Bowler of the Year: Steve Wright

Player of the Year: Marcus Bound
Batter of the Year: Marcus Bound
Bowler of the Year: Liam Carty

Player of the Year: Eve O’Neill
Batter of the Year: Callum Greasley
Bowler of the Year: Matt Morgan

Player of the Year: Sam Binnington
Batter of the Year: Josh Ellis
Bowler of the Year: Pete O’Neill

Player of the Year: Ryan Lomax

The average age of the eleven winners of the Saturday awards is just 21 and there are five teenagers rewarded, including the hugely talented 13-year-old Eve O’Neill who won the 3rd XI Player of the Year, the exciting 15-year-old prospect Marcus Bound, who won both the 2nd XI Player of the Year and Batter of the Year and Pete O’Neill, at just 15 as well, who claimed the 4th XI Bowler of the Year trophy.

On the back of such an outstanding season for everyone in the club, to see young players progressing their games and claiming awards is a positive signs for the future.

Roll on 2022 and for much more success.